California Educator

April / May 2019

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 66 of 73

New Bills to Support Heins thanked delegates for their work in considering and taking action on approximately 300 bills to provide students with the public education they need and deserve. In particular, several of these bills fight the problems pre- sented by privately managed charter schools that siphon funds from public education. This new package of bills — SB 756, AB 1505, AB 1506 and AB 1507 — will give local communities, dis- tricts and school boards more control over charter authorization and renewal, and implement a cap on the number of charters and a moratorium on their proliferation (see story on page 38). CTA's new leadership team (clockwise from left): E. Toby Boyd, David B. Goldberg, Leslie Littman. Their terms begin June 26. Teachers of the Year Recognized T H R E E O F C A L I F O R N I A ' S 2019 Teachers of the Year, Kim Holz, Angel Mejico and Rosie Reid, were honored during State Coun- cil (Erica Boomer could not be present). As California's nominee for National Teacher of the Year, Reid, a member of the Mt. Dia- blo Education Association, spoke to Council about her journey as an educator and activism to make sure her students receive a quality education. Read more about these sterling educators at Left to right: CTA Vice President Theresa Montaño, Kim Holz, Angel Mejico, President Eric Heins, Rosie Reid, Secretary-Treasurer David Goldberg. #RedForEd Day of Action on May 22 O N M A Y 2 2 , join educators, parents, students and community for a #RedForEd Day of Action in Sacramento and throughout the state to let legislators know that they must support these bills to protect our students and neighborhood public schools. The rally is scheduled to begin at 4 p.m. in Sacramento. Learn more and get involved at redfored. #RedForEd #KidsNotProfits New CTA Officers Elected President E. TOBY BOYD Current CTA Board member, District E Vice President DAVID B. GOLDBERG Current CTA secretary-treasurer Secretary-Treasurer LESLIE LIT TMAN Current CTA Board member, District I Other election results NEA Board of Directors District 5: TELLY TSE CTA Board of Directors District D: MIKE PAT TERSON District L: MARGIE GR ANADO District P: ROBERTO RODRIGUEZ CTA/NEA Coordinating Director: MEL HOUSE CTA/ABC Committee District C: L AUR A FINCO District F: JENNIFER WILKIN District K: WENDY ECCLES District L: LORR AINE RICHARDS District P: JESSICA MERSCHTINA District Q: PATRICK MITCHELL At-Large: ANDREA REYNA 65 A P R I L / M AY 2 019

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of California Educator - April / May 2019