California Educator

August/September 2021

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 38 of 75

O N J U L Y 1 Gov. Gavin Newsom signed into law a bill that requires schools to create a process for learning and grade recovery as a result of the pandemic. Assembly Bill 104 went into effect immediately and allows parents of students who were in grades K-11 in 2020 and who have a D, F, or an equivalent grade in at least half of their courses to request that the student be held back a year. "Now that our kids are returning to the classroom, we need to focus on supporting students who have fallen behind and lost a year of educational progress," said the bill's author, Assembly Member Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego), in a statement. "AB 104 provides students and parents with immediate steps they can take to help their children get back on track." Studies have found that COVID-19 school disruptions significantly impacted student learning, especially among low-income students and English learners. The bill provides that within 30 days of receiving a writ- ten request for retention, schools must offer parents and the student a consultation meeting with an administrator and teacher. The consultation must include a discussion of learning options, a consideration of the student's academic record, and research on the effects of pupil retention. Schools have the ultimate authority to decide whether to retain a student and are required to notify the parent of their decision within 10 days of the consultation meeting. High school students can apply to have a letter grade replaced with a pass/no pass grade. The grade changes must not negatively impact a student's grade point average. The law requires that the CSU system accept the pass/no pass grades without prejudice, and encourages the UC sys- tem and private colleges to do the same. The bill requires that the California Department of Educa- tion post a list of all colleges and universities within the state that have indicated they will accept pass/no pass grades without prejudice. It also requires that the CDE provide schools with an application template for grade changes. Schools are required to inform students and families of this grade change option on their website and in writing. Students enrolled in their last two years of high school in 2020-21 and who are not on track to graduate are exempt from all coursework that is in addition to the statewide coursework requirements. Schools must provide these stu- dents with a chance to complete the statewide coursework required for graduation, including allowing a fifth year of instruction or credit recovery. CTA took a neutral position on this legislation as it made its way through the legislative process. Pandemic Do-Over New law gives California students an opportunity to redo a grade level By Lisa Gardiner Community colleges — Provides a 5.07 percent COLA, or $371.2 million in ongoing funding. Allocates $100 million in ongoing Prop. 98 funding to increase the hiring of full-time faculty, and $90 million one-time and $10 million ongoing funding to support part- time faculty office hours; budgets $20 million in one-time funding to support faculty professional development; and designates $115 million in one-time funding for zero-text- book-cost degrees. Behavioral health — Invests a total of $4.4 billion over five years to create a new, modern and innovative behavioral health system for chil- dren and youth up to age 25. This includes $205 million for the Mental Health Student Services Act to fund school and county mental health partnerships that support the mental health and emotional needs of children and youth as they return to schools and everyday life. 37 A U G U S T / S E P T E M B E R 2 0 21

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of California Educator - August/September 2021