California Educator

April/May 2023

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 50 of 61

taking positions on more than 300 bills currently winding their way through the Cali- fornia Legislature. In his report to State Council, President Boyd thanked members for all their efforts to support students, build the union and work for a more just society. "We're all part of something big! Something bigger than ourselves," Boyd said. "We're all part of a long line of disrupters who have been doing this righteous work for the sake of students, educators and working families all throughout California." e meeting had a palpable buzz and energy following the three-day strike last week by SEIU Local 99 (which represents educational support professionals) at Los Angeles Unified School District. e 30,000 members of United Teachers Los Angeles (UTLA) honored the picket line in an inspiring show of solidarity resulting in a tentative agree- ment for SEIU Local 99 on Friday. " When 30,000 UTLA members refuse to cross a picket line in support of their colleagues, they raise the bar on what solidarity means for all of us," CTA Executive Director Joe Boyd said during his report to State Council. The five 2023 California Teachers of the Year were honored at State Council. From left: Catherine Borek, Jason Torres-Rangel, Bridgette Donald-Blue, Lauren Camarillo and Ben Case. Torres-Rangel, California's nominee for National Teacher of the Year, followed up a week where the UTLA member walked the picket line for three days with an inspiring speech to State Council. "Leslie, Erika and I stand ready to create opportunities for educators and families, confront the challenges ahead and put it all on the line for all California students." —CTA President-elect David Goldberg The next CTA State Council of Education meeting will be held May 19-21. State Council members also elected the following members to leadership positions: CTA Board of Directors VanCedric Williams, District A Jesse Aguilar, District H Wendy Eccles, District K Denise Bradford, District N Angela Der Ramos, At-Large CTA/ABC Committee Luciano Ortiz, District G Hillary Hall, District I Ed De La Vega, District H Anthony Garcia, District O NEA Board of Directors Ever Flores, District 2 Matthew Seymour, District 4 Irene Amezcua, District 10 Robbie Kreitz, Alternate Director, Seat 1 49 A P R I L / M AY 2 0 2 3

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of California Educator - April/May 2023