California Educator

October 2014

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 54 of 59

CTA & You EDUCATION SUPPORT PROFESSIONAL OF THE YEAR AWARD Honors a CTA member who reflects the outstanding contributions of Education Support Professionals (ESPs) to public education. The winner becomes California's nominee for the annual NEA ESP of the Year Award. CTA's PAULA MONROE, Redlands Education Support Professionals Association, is the 2014 winner. CTA HUMAN RIGHTS AWARDS PROGRAM Honors the work of individual members, local chapters and Service Center Councils in protecting the human and civil rights of educators and students; working to build family, school and community partnerships; and promoting equal educational opportunities and access for all students, among other things. JOYCE FADEM CHAPTER-IN-POLITICS AND THEODORE BASS MEMORIAL TEACHER-IN-POLITICS AWARDS Given biennially to chapters and individual members for outstanding contributions to the education profession through political action. CTA STATE GOLD AWARDS Honor those outside of the association whose leadership, acts and support positively impacted public education. JOHN SWETT AWARDS FOR MEDIA EXCELLENCE Recognize media professionals for outstanding coverage of California education issues. ANNUAL CTA GRANTS AND SCHOLARSHIPS Unless noted, the application deadline is posted online. CTA SCHOLARSHIPS FOR MEMBERS AND THEIR DEPENDENTS Scholarships of up to $3,000 are given to members of CTA or Student CTA, and of up to $5,000 to their dependents. Deadline: Feb. 8, 2015. MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP Given to members of defined ethnic minority groups who are members of CTA or Student CTA, or their dependent children, and are pursuing a college degree, credential or certification for a teaching-related career in public education. Deadline: Feb. 22, 2015. CÉSAR E. CHÁVEZ MEMORIAL EDUCATION AWARDS PROGRAM Recognize teams of students and their teachers who demonstrate an understanding of César Chávez's guiding principles with a written essay or visual arts project. Entries must be submitted by a CTA member. Deadline: January 9, 2015. GLBT "GUY DEROSA" SAFETY IN SCHOOLS GRANT AND SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM These grants support projects and students in teaching/ counseling credential programs that promote understanding and respect for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender persons. L. GORDON BITTLE MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP FOR STUDENT CTA (SCTA) This program offers up to three (3) scholarships in the amount of $5,000 each to members of Student CTA (SCTA) who demonstrate high academic achievement. INCENTIVE GRANTS CTA offers minority and small chapter incentive grants for members to attend most of its major conferences, such as Presidents Conference and Summer Institute. The grants cover transportation, conference fees, and lodging based on double occupancy. DISASTER RELIEF FUND The Disaster Relief Fund provides financial assistance to CTA members and school sites that have experienced significant losses due to disasters in California. NEA GRANTS AND AWARDS The NEA Foundation awards nearly 200 grants to support educators' efforts to close achievement gaps, develop creative learning opportunities for students, and enhance their own professional development. See CTA's latest winners on page 43. Find dozens of NEA grants and awards available to members and students at under the "Grants and Events" tab. 53 V O L U M E 1 9 I S S U E 3

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of California Educator - October 2014